The Championship Season

Bernard B. Jacobs Theatre |  Broadway  |  March 2011

A play (winner of the 1973 Pulitzer Prize for Drama) by Jason Miller

Directed by Gregory Mosher

Starring Kiefer Sutherland, Chris Noth, Jason Patric, and Brian Cox

Four members of a high school basketball team have gathered at their former coach’s home in a reunion 20 years after they won the 1952 Pennsylvania state championship. Over endless amounts of beer and whiskey these men — now a teacher, an alcoholic, a local businessman and the town’s mayor — relive those glory days, play by play, as they grapple with the current state of their lives. (Read more at

“Such easy camaraderie would seem hard to fake, and it serves the cast well. That Championship Season has been revived to excellent effect by a talented, committed ensemble of actors.”

- AP